A Helpful Panel.

After listening to a panel of Journalism majors who recently graduated from UMass, I am completely convinced that I have declared the right major. Although I am somewhat unclear as to what I want to do as my profession after college, it is clear to me, after listening to the panel, that this particular major provides a variety of career options. I found it so fascinating that each individual, although they graduated with same major, have completely differing professions.

Although the career options vary with a degree in Journalism, it is evident that writing is the most important aspect.  Writing is vital.  I hope that as I continue on with my second semester as a Journalism major, my writing will continue to improve more and more.

I learned after listening to the panel, that as a Journalism major, I can not sit around and wait for opportunities to come to me. If  I want to be successful in this field, I have get involved with the opportunities on campus as well as apply for many internships. It is evident, that Journalism is a field that can be quite difficult to teach.  If you are driven and passionate about a particular subject in the field then that is what you must work off of in order to be successful.

I gained a lot of helpful advice. Write what you know, what you are passionate about, and what you love. Apply to internships and learn as much as you can from them. Get involved on campus, especially the Collegian because taking courses do not suffice. Be ready to learn technical aspects of the media component of Journalism. Be open and ready for anything. You are constantly learning as the field is constantly changing. Do not give up and keep trying.

I am so glad I attended this event; not so I could write this particular blog but because I learned so much from it and it was very reassuring. This is what I want and need to do with my life.

About LSinclair

I am a Junior at the University of Massachusetts Amherst studying Journalism and Anthropology. I am interested in photojournalism. I hope to some day travel the world and write for National Geographic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

