A Year Worth Spent

As I reflect on the conclusion of my sophomore year at UMass Amherst I appreciate the fun times spent with some great friends as well as the lessons I learned inside and outside the classroom. Although the freshman gitters diminished upon entering my sophomore year, I still learned a tremendous amount about myself as I faced real life experiences throughout each and every day. I think however the most important aspect about my sophomore year of college was that I finally realized what I would like to do after my college career. 

On a whim, declaring Journalism as my major right before entering the spring semester was probably one of the smartest decisions I have ever made.  Enrolled in two Journalism courses for the spring and not knowing much about the major, I was extremely anxious to arrive back at school.  Knowing in my heart that I wanted to travel the world and write about people’s sufferings in hopes to bring about change, I knew I was in the right place.

Both courses, introduction to newswriting and reporting and introduction to photojournalism, not only provided key components to becoming a successful journalist but also reinforced my passion to become one. As my peers and I were forced to participate in specific circumstances, such as interviewing a police officer, asking a town hall official for their docket, or asking a stranger to take their picture, we experienced firsthand what it was like to be a journalist. From these experiences, it became clear that I had made the right decision.

As I continue on with my major and ultimately my career, I will be sure to bring along the lessons I learned in both classes.  I know now that I must always be ready for a story because I never know that when something may happen it may be worth reporting.  I understand that writing is vital and I must work hard in order to improve.  When writing I must remember to state facts rather than my opinion.  I also must include the entire story without leaving any information behind.  I must be courageous and make a difference. 

Although I may have little experience in the field,  I am determined in these next two years to learn as much as I can in and out of the classroom.  I know in my heart that I am meant to do this.  I want to make a differnce and I know this is a great place to begin.

About LSinclair

I am a Junior at the University of Massachusetts Amherst studying Journalism and Anthropology. I am interested in photojournalism. I hope to some day travel the world and write for National Geographic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

